Connect with us


Several new Georgia laws went into effect this week, including one to protect bicyclists and drivers on the road



Augusta, GA – Authorities say that this law is a much-needed update to a law that’s ten years old.

When passing a cyclist, the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety says a driver must move over into the other lane if it is safe and legal to do so.

If a driver can’t move over, they must slow down to ten miles under the speed limit or 25 mph, whichever is higher. Drivers must also allow at least three feet of room between their vehicle and a bicyclist when passing.

According to the National Highway Traffic Administration’s latest report, twenty-one cyclists were killed on Georgia roads in 2019.

And this time around, If you get caught breaking the law, it will cost you. Fines go up to $250.